Audiokarma.org
Audiokarma Featured Sponsor

Go Back   AudioKarma.org Home Audio Stereo Discussion Forums > Dollars and Sense

We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.

Old 08-11-2012, 10:46 PM
AK Member

Pioneer CS99 price - worth it?

Hi,

I'm very new to this whole world, however I've appreciated music and sound quality my whole life. It's only recently that I've started making money and have inherited some equipment, including a pair of CS99s, only one of which has speakers (it looks like it was rigged up to be an amplifier for a guitar... quarter inch direct-in to the woofer, which has now disconnected. missing all other parts)

So, I really like the look and the way the one sounds through my Sansui 7000... and I've been looking for parts or a single speaker for a while to no avail.

Somehow, I've found a pair on my local craigslist for $250. Is it worth it? I could sell off the old "pair" and come out without too much monetary damage dealt. I haven't had too much luck elsewhere (or more likely, I don't know enough).

Would you do it? Or am I better off waiting? Or better yet, do any of you have a speaker set for Pioneer CS-99s?

EDIT: link to the speakers in question for those interested: http://denver.craigslist.org/ele/3174816339.html
Old 08-11-2012, 11:57 PM
Optimist in residence

This will get moved to dollars and sense soon. Those questions aren't allowed in the forums. To answer your question, I did pay $350 for a mint set of Pioneer CS-99A speakers. They are not that good for general speaker duties but have their uses under certain circumstances. It was a little more than I wanted to spend for them. They usually go for $500 in the same condition on ebay. If you don't have a special reason to get them I would say don't, or soon you will be on here griping about them. Get something different. Klipsch or Kef or maybe Pioneer HPM's.

Regards,

Ron.
Old 08-12-2012, 12:24 AM
AK Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhomanski View Post