Audiokarma.org
Audiokarma Featured Sponsor

Go Back   AudioKarma.org Home Audio Stereo Discussion Forums > Dollars and Sense


We appreciate your help

in keeping this site going.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2007, 11:28 AM
noprayer's Avatar
noprayer noprayer is offline
For The Dying
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Posts: 993
Kenwood Basic M1 Amplifier Goodwill Find

I found a Kenwood Basic M1 Power Amp at Goodwill today that is in good shape except for 1 missing connector for one of the B channel speakers. it cost me 15 dollars and i was wondering if anyone here has had any experience with these. It is supposedly 100 watts per channel into 8 ohms with a pretty low total harmonic distortion. Any opinions would be appreciated. (I will post a few pics tonight)
__________________
He went right up side the head of my favorite baby seal
He went WHAP!
With a lead-filled snow shoe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2007, 12:31 PM
wineslob's Avatar
wineslob wineslob is offline
Wiping out white van
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The West Coast
Posts: 2,987
Nice find, and a pretty decent amp.
If memory serves, it is a 100w/ch amp.
__________________
"Quiet, or I'll blow your throat up!"

Luxman CL35 MKIII
Bedini 150/150 MK II
Cheap azz carosel player
DIY Apogee Duettaurs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2007, 12:33 PM
nbourbaki's Avatar
nbourbaki nbourbaki is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 414
I believe theophile uses a Kenwood Basic M2 as his bass amp.
__________________

Main System:
Denon AVR-4802
Parasound Halo A51
Yamaha YP-D6 w/ Grado Gold Cartridge
Sony SCD-C555ES
Paradigm Studio 60v2 (mains), 20v2 (surrounds), Studio CCv2 (center), PW2200 (sub)


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2007, 12:56 PM
Gibsonian's Avatar
Gibsonian Gibsonian is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,911
I had the Basic M1D, which is rated 125w/channel. I thought it did best in the upper frequencies, mine seemed a bit bass shy.
__________________
Champion Of Higher Fidelity
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2007, 01:27 PM
Boonaroo's Avatar
Boonaroo Boonaroo is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 912
I have had a number of the Kenwood Basic components over the years. M1A M1d, M2a, C1 C2, but I have never had either of the first generation amps. The M1 and M2 had what Kenwood called Dynamic Linear Drive amplification. If I recall correctly, you have to have 2 speaker cables running from the amp to the speakers. You may want to find a manual for it, because I believe that it has to be wired properly to you speakers or you won't get the best performance.

I currently have a Kenwood Basic M1d with the C2 pre amp. I have it hooked up to Polk SDA 1c, and I am very pleased with the combination.

You may want to consider looking into the Kenwood Basic pre amps. The C1 is very cheap and plentiful. A C2 might set you back $75 in good condition.

Let us know how it is working out for you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #6  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:19 PM
noprayer's Avatar
noprayer noprayer is offline
For The Dying
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Posts: 993
I have an old Sony tuner/pre combo that i like the sound of so i think i will give that a try first. After taking a gander at the insides it looks like it's going to need a fair amount of cleaning before i give it any kind of workout. I'll keep you posted.
__________________
He went right up side the head of my favorite baby seal
He went WHAP!
With a lead-filled snow shoe
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2007, 08:27 PM
noprayer's Avatar
noprayer noprayer is offline
For The Dying
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Posts: 993
Pics

Here are a few photos.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg More-stereo-pics-001.jpg (126.9 KB, 408 views)
File Type: jpg More-stereo-pics-005.jpg (109.7 KB, 382 views)
File Type: jpg More-stereo-pics-006.jpg (108.6 KB, 266 views)
File Type: jpg More-stereo-pics-007.jpg (109.0 KB, 324 views)
__________________
He went right up side the head of my favorite baby seal
He went WHAP!
With a lead-filled snow shoe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2007, 08:54 PM
Damage's Avatar
Damage Damage is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,397
Well, that isn't what I expected the insides to look like. I figured they would look like the inside of my 880SD integrated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ka-880SD 001.jpg (185.9 KB, 210 views)
File Type: jpg ka-880SD 003.jpg (181.9 KB, 213 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2007, 08:59 PM
redcoates7's Avatar
redcoates7 redcoates7 is offline
redcoates7
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 3,783
I had an M1D for a while and was dissapointed to find that the outputs were all "power packs" like in the KA-880 and a lot of their newer gear...

The M1 on the other hand...discrete outputs, Sigma Servo, that's one heck of a nice machine! And for $15...total deal!

Make sure you connect both the A Speaker outputs and the Sigma Servo outputs to your main speakers...it makes a big difference in the bass response!

Nice find...
__________________
...so how many pieces of vintage Kenwood Gear constitutes a problem, and not a collection??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2007, 09:46 PM
Damage's Avatar
Damage Damage is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,397
I believe that the M1A uses the power packs. Other than that, they are very similar in looks. The KA-880SD has the Sigma Drive also, but not the external connections.
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
  #11  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:09 PM
restorer-john's Avatar
restorer-john restorer-john is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,468
Interesting design- it looks like the amp may use two rails and the second set of output transistors may switch a higher rail voltage in for peaks. The output transistors appear original but the TO3P trs are way over spec for just drivers. Also the two sets of different value caps points to either two rails or a separate supply for the driver stage. Would be interested to see a schematic if anyone has one.
Should sound pretty good- amazing for $15!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2007, 10:25 PM
nielsvanm2 nielsvanm2 is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Guelph, ON
Posts: 388
I picked up a VGC M1 and C1 for 50 cdn a while ago, but haven't found a permanent home for them yet. So, with the Sigma drive, you just run speaker wire to the speaker from the output, and then back from the speaker to the Sigma outputs?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2007, 12:46 AM
theophile's Avatar
theophile theophile is offline
Pheasant Plucker.
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia.
Posts: 10,918
OK guys.
Hello all,nbourbaki was right I use a Kenwood Basic M2 as the bass amp in my system.I used to use a K B M1 as the treble amp before I bought the Yamaha B-2.
With the understanding that I've never used the M1 for any frequency below 800Hz,I'll say it's a nice amp.It's not an eye-opener(for that you've gotta go to the Yamaha B-2),but it's respectable sounding.
The sigma-drive function (available on the "speaker A"outputsonly,not "speaker B"),requires two sets of wires to be run to the speakers.One set of wires come from the normal "speaker A" outputs,the other set run from the shaded "speaker A" outputs.The wires run from the sigma outputs need to be of a slightly smaller gauge than the wires run from the non sigma outputs.
Make sure that you keep "+"normal with "+" sigma or you'll f*** things up.
Have fun with your amp.
__________________
Turntable: Yamaha GT-2000
Cartridge: Soundsmith 'The Voice'
Phono stage: Simaudio Moon LP 5.3
Line Stage: Hornshoppe 'The Truth'
Speakers: KRK Expose E8B Active Studio Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:27 AM
Damage's Avatar
Damage Damage is offline
AK Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by restorer-john
Interesting design- it looks like the amp may use two rails and the second set of output transistors may switch a higher rail voltage in for peaks.
They are both switching designs. Not sure of the specifics.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-24-2007, 12:48 PM
thedelihaus's Avatar
thedelihaus thedelihaus is offline
See me,touch me,Thiel me
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston Area, Massachusetts
Posts: 29,450
How's this "sigma" work, and what's it really do?

sounds interesting...
__________________
What you got back home, little sister, to play your fuzzy warbles on? I bet you got, say, pitiful, portable picnic players. Come with uncle and hear all proper! Hear angels' trumpets and devils' trombones. You are invited!
Reply With Quote
Audiokarma
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.



Friends of Audiokarma
We appreciate your help in keeping this site going.
Stereo Repair World
Herbies Audio Lab
Vintage Home Audio
Amps and Sound
Pro DJ Headphones - click here
Organ Donor Parts
Wargos Electronics
Parts Connexion
Sonneteer
Take Five Audio
Sound Stage Direct
Audio Salon
AudioClassics
Audience AV
AV Solutions
Simply Speakers
Tone Arm Audio
BD Enterprise
Musical Paradise
Howard Products
Classic Sound Repair
FM DX Antenna
McIntosh Cabinets
Siliconray
BOI Audio Works
Vinyl Magic Record Cleaner
Amplifiedparts
Grant Fidelity
RSL Speakers
Yesterday's Audio
Urban Antigue Radio
DeWick Repairs
Many Moons Audio
Vintage Electronics Repair
The Tube Store
Politicalchat.org
Audio Doctor
Antique Radio Classifieds
MCM Electronics
Videokarma.org
   
   
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ęCopyright 2002-2014 AudioKarma.org, All rights reserved.